Home » Archive

Articles in the Sightseens Category

Sightseens »

[14 Apr 2009 | No Comment | ]
MUSEUM OF TOMBSTONES AND ROADSIDE MONUMENTS

Almost in the very yard of the Primary school in Guca there is a Museum of tombstones and roadside monuments, made by the naive stonecutters, for which Dragacevo is well-known.
Some of those monuments were made after the third decade of 19th century.
They are characterized by interesting and eloquent epitaphs, as well as the decoration. You can see the faces of warriors and plowman, pupils and girls, trumpet players and harvesters…
There are 33 monuments placed in three rooms, sorted into about ten groups, according to theme.
The Museum of tombstones and roadside …

Sightseens »

[12 Apr 2009 | No Comment | ]
CHURCHES

CHURCH IN GUCA
A church in Guca was dedicated to the Saint Archangels Michael and Gavril, and it was sanctified in 1831. The old church, which is not far away from there (it is located between the village Kornet and Dragacica) was built from 1794 till 1797. The main trustee was Milutin Ilic – the priest called Gucanin, who was later the head of the Pozeska region and the duke of Karadjordje¢s, and who died in 1814 and was first buried nearby the monastery of the Holy Trinity in Ovcar. His …

Sightseens »

[12 Apr 2009 | No Comment | ]
DRAGACEVO WOMAN WEAVERS COOPERATIVE

In the picturesque valley at the mouth of the river Vucica into the Bjelica river, in the village called Donji Dubac, there is a Dragacevo women cooperative called “Rajka Borojevic”, which was founded in 1952, and it was named after its founder who was also its first and second manager. It has existed for half a century and it has gathered more than 1.200 women weavers from the Dragacevo villages as well as from the town Raska. Its business is the handicrafts and handwork. All the products are woven on …

Sightseens »

[12 Apr 2009 | No Comment | ]
FRESCOES OF BRANKO SOTRA

In Donji Dubac, on the hill called Orlujak, in a village house of its former owner Spasoje (today it is a house of Tihomir Tadic), there is a unique artistic gallery of frescoes, which were painted by an academic painter Branko Sotra. During his stay in Donji Dubac, from the beginning of November 1942 until the end of January 1943, where he was hiding as a worrior of the Kopaonik partisan brigade, and, with the plain painting material (eggs, milk, soot), he decorated the walls of this house with frescoes. …

Sightseens »

[12 Apr 2009 | No Comment | ]
MUSEUM OF GORACIC`S REBILLION

The Museum of Goracic’s rebellion is situated in the building (semi-shed) of the municipality court room, in the center of Goracic village, nearby the school and the church devoted to the Birth of the Saint Mother of God, which was proclaimed to be cultural monument in 1981. It is situated 15 kilometres from “Vajati”. It is devoted to the rebellion which happened on February 20, 1893, which was the most numerous and most determined movement in the 19th century in Dragacevo. Radicals did not want to accept and recognize the …

Sightseens »

[12 Apr 2009 | No Comment | ]
RCANSKE CAVES

The natural monument called “Rcanske caves” in the village called Rti is listed in the Records of the most important speleological places in Serbia, and that registration was done by the Serbian Academy of Science and Art in cooperation with other institutions. They are located 14 kilometres from »Vajati«. This unique speleological place is, in fact, a complex of caves which are mutually connected, and they consist of a large cave, dry cave, blind cave and an abyss, with 750 metres of internal passable canals and the protected area of …